The healing power of juicing

I’ve been juicing a lot lately. I love juicing. The benefits are so amazing I can feel the difference right away. Think of juices as liquid vitamin supplements, only better tasting. They are concentrated nutrition, a delivery service that gets it there in half the time. Juices give the body a break from the process of digestion, making it great for cleansing. The nutrients are packed with antioxidants and essential amino acids that are rapidly assimilated. If there’s one thing that has the most positive and immediate impact on your health, it’s drinking organic, green juices daily. The big difference between the green juice and the green smoothie is the pulp, the fiber. Both are very healthy for you, but juicing is great for when the seasons change, or just giving ourselves a break from food.

Juicing can be messy and time-consuming. But then again, so is alcohol, cigarettes, fast food and sugar! I would much rather put the effort into juicing daily then staying sick from my unhealthy “convenient” lifestyle. Life is precious, I really don’t mind taking a little extra time in the morning. If you can afford it, get a good juicer. I have a very old one that doesn’t juice greens very well, but I use it for juicing everything else like beets, carrots, celery, cucumber. I plan to get a better juicer soon. I also want to open up my own juice bar someday, I really want THRIVE to have a juice bar inside. How convenient would that be!

This is my old school juicer that I use now. The one I want is this…

I’m holding out until I can get this juicer. In the meantime, I go to the local juice bar at Integral Yoga. Make sure you only use organic produce, especially when you will be juicing the skin, peel and seeds. When you use lemons, cut away the outer peel and leave the white pith, it is great for you. Drink fresh juice as soon as possible after you’ve made it, the nutrients lose their value pretty quickly once their exposed to oxygen. There is really no measuring with making juice. The fun part is looking in the fridge to see what you can run through the juicer. There are endless combinations. Here is one from Sarma Mengailis in her book Raw Food Real World. She is such an inspiration to me.

Basic Green

8 to 10 large leaves of kale
1/2 bunch parsley
3 stalks of celery
1/2 apple
1/2 lemon, outer peel cut away

Run all ingredients through a juicer
Happy juicing!

Leave a Reply

