Pumpkin pie smoothie and Raw Pecan love pie

This is my favorite time of year here in Charlottesville. I love fall and all the delicious desserts that come along with it. I love pumpkin pie and pecan pie and warm apple pie. It’s just that I’m trying to watch what I eat and I don’t want to eat sugar and dairy and gluten. I like feeling like I had a nice dessert without all the guilt. I just created this pumpkin pie smoothie, which I kinda copied from Integral Yoga, but so what! Here it is….

11/2 cups of carrot juice (fresh)
1 inch piece of ginger juiced
11/2 frozen bananas
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
Blend in a high speed blender and enjoy!

Kimberly Snyder just  posted a recipe I can’t wait to try called Pecan Love Pie, it’s raw, vegan and gluten free. Check it out!

Crust:

–       2 cups walnuts

–       3 cups of pitted dates

–       1 cup coconut flakes, finely ground

Pit the dates yourself, extracting each pit and discarding. Add the dates, coconut flakes and walnuts to the food processor and mix on high until thoroughly mixed.

Press the mixture into the bottom and sides of a pie tray. Set to the side.

 Filling:

–    2/3 cup filtered water

–       1 cup raw pecans, soaked about 15 minutes

–       1 cup organic Thompson raisins

–       1 Tbs. vanilla extract

–       1 tsp. nutmeg

–       1/3 cup raw coconut nectar or maple syrup

–       1 tsp. Celtic sea salt

Blend all ingredients together in the blender until smooth. Pour onto the crust of the tray, and garnish with fresh, raw pecans.

Set in freezer overnight, or for at least 5 hours before serving. Remove from freezer for about 10 minutes or so (depending on your freezer) to let it thaw a bit. Slice up and enjoy!

This is all from kimberlysnyder.net

One thought on “Pumpkin pie smoothie and Raw Pecan love pie

  1. I could eat pumpkin pie every day of the year and never get tired of it (it better by gluten free and dairy free, though….or I’ll be sorry). One smoothie coming up.

Leave a Reply

