Brazil nut milk

I made brazil nut milk last night because I didn’t have any raw almonds, which are hard to find unless you order them online. I bought some raw brazil nuts from the bulk section of whole foods. This milk was so rich and creamy, it’s amazing! I use it on my cereal and in my coffee. I was drawn to the brazil nuts, weird, it was a very strong craving. I notice that about myself, when I’m  feeling connected and relaxed I am drawn to certain foods. My body communicates with me if I will only listen. Turns out brazil nuts are high in Vitamin E. Vitamin E is a powerful lipid-soluble antioxidant. Antioxidants are essential when your immune system is down or if your just feeling blah. It is required for maintaining the integrity of cell membranes of mucous membranes and the skin by protecting it from harmful oxygen-free radicals. Brazil nuts are also the highest in the natural mineral selenium. Here’s the simple recipe…

1 cup brazil nuts (soaked overnight)
3 cups of filtered water
blend in a high speed blender until smooth
strain through a nut milk bag

I love this new buckwheat hemp cereal from Erehon, it’s delicious, gluten-free and high in fiber. It tastes just like wheaties without the wheat! I love it with my homemade brazil nut milk.

 

Photo-credit– tasty kitchen.com
examiner.com

 

Leave a comment