My love for green smoothies

I have a deep love for green smoothies. Green smoothies are a regular part of my everyday life. They are like my comfort, my security blanket. I love filling my mason jar every morning with delicious green smoothie recipes. I have discovered amazing benefits from drinking green smoothies every day. My skin is clearer, my eyes are brighter, my metabolism has changed,my weight is balanced, ¬†elimination is more regular promoting detox, I’m not starving all the time because I get my nutrients delivered directly to my blood stream. I don’t have to take so many vitamins, my kitchen was starting to look like a GNC. I couldn’t even remember what I was taking and why. I just felt deficient. It’s best to get all our nutrients from food. The green smoothie takes care of everything. The only thing I take now is Omega Fatty Acids, very important, and I add various super foods to my smoothies. I also add protein powder, I like Sun-Warrior brand and Vega. These grains are sprouted and have more nutrients. I also have a few local eggs or a bowl of amaranth grain about a half hour after my smoothie. I just have the type of metabolism that needs constant protein. I encourage you to start your day with a green smoothie.

Since I’ve been cutting back on sugar, I don’t use as much fruit as I used to. I use about 2 bananas a week. No more apples, pears or melons. Although this can be cleansing for some people. I’m on a specific diet for some health issues and can’t have sugar, so experiment yourself with different fruits and greens. I love Green for life by Victoria Boutenko.

I refer to this to make sure I’m rotating my greens. My typical smoothie now looks like this..

I head of romaine lettuce
5 leaves of kale or a handful of spinach
Juice of one lemon or I peel away the skin leaving the white pith
1 cup of blueberries or blackberries ( high in antioxidants and low in sugar)
1 packet of stevia
1 cucumber chopped
1 celery stalk
fresh basil, mint, parsley or cilantro
11/2 cups of homemade almond milk, water, or coconut water
1 scoop of protein powder
1 scoop of maca powder or green powder ( I like pure synergy brand)
Blend in a vita-mix or high speed blender and enjoy!

Other suggestions to add-
acai smoothie packs ( no sugar added) found at Whole Foods
1/2 frozen banana
goji berries
bee pollen

Photo-credit-The Epoch Times

Leave a Reply

