Summer Squash coriander soup with sour cream

I made this refreshing and delicious soup over the weekend and wanted to share it. It’s so easy, healthy,and in season. I used 2 gigantic squash from a friends garden. One green and one yellow squash. I paired this with a grass-fed and local flat iron steak (I am eating meat again).I decided to do this because my body was really suffering. I still avoid dairy and gluten and sugar (mostly) 🙂 I still try to keep my diet 50% raw, more in the summer months. I find adding back in the grass-fed meats, and some fish (only wild), and local eggs, I feel stronger. If you are eating vegan and are feeling great, I encourage you to to go with it. It’s so important for us to listen to our bodies needs and to be honest. I love the idea of being vegan, but my body doesn’t. I need the animal protein after all. But every body is different. I still believe animals deserve better, so I always buy my meat from the local farmers market. I talk to the farmers  who raise the cattle. I really like Wolf Creek farms.I still hate supporting murder, but I feel tired and useless when I don’t eat meat. I like keeping my meats rare too, I feel I get more of the nutrients this way. Anywho…here’s the soup recipe! From Everyday Raw Express by Matthew Kenney. Great book for preparing raw recipes in under 30 minutes, god knows I don’t have much time anymore.

4 cups of peeled and yellow squash *one squash equals 2 cups
1/4 cup of pine nuts
1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon agave
21/2 cups of water
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup sour cream
Blend all ingredients except sour cream until smooth, top with sour cream.
sour cream
2 cups cashews
1 cup water
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon salt

blend all ingredients in a high speed blender until smooth

If you don’t feel like making the sour cream, use Tofutti brand sour cream, it’s yummy. Not as healthy as raw sour cream though. I kicked back on Sunday with my soup and watched the entire first season of Breaking Bad, It’s freaking awesome! The show is unbelievable, I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

