Peaches and Cream cobbler topped with coconut cream fraiche

I whipped up this simple and delicious raw dessert inspired by a recipe in this months  Veg News magazine. If you haven’t ever checked out Veg News, it’s the best! I love it.

It inspires me to read it. So many good recipes and inspirational stories. This month also has the vegan weddings of 2012. I think that is so sweet, I hope to have a vegan wedding someday. There are lots of vegan men out there now, so cute. Although it’s not a deal breaker if I meet the man of my dreams and he eats meat, not at all, it would just be so cool to meet a man who cares about animals as much as I do. Just a thought.

Anywho, I love the joys of summer “uncooking” and indulging in nature’s produce. I can’t wait to pick up my bounty basket today from Relay Foods. Relay foods is an online grocery store where you’ll find stuff from the best local stores, restaurants, and farms right in your own neighborhood. I will have fresh, local peaches, yum.

Peach cobbler with coconut cream fraiche

For the fruit filling:

2 tablespoons maple syrup

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

2 teaspoons lemon juice

4 cups peeled and sliced peaches ( I didn’t bother peeling them)

For the crumble:

1 cup pecans

11/3 cups pitted Medjool dates

1/8 teaspoon salt

For the cream fraiche:

1 cup cashews, soaked 4 to 12 hours, drained and rinsed

11/2 cups coconut water

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/8th teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted

1. For the fruit, whisk together maple syrup, vanilla, lemon juice, cinnamon, nutmeg,  and simply pour over peaches and marinate for an hour.

2. For the crumble, in a food processor, grind pecans, dates and salt until mixture is sticky and crumbly.

3. For the cream, blend cashews, coconut water, maple syrup,coconut oil, salt and vanilla and blend until smooth.

This makes 4 servings. I wrapped up what I didn’t eat and ate it the next day…sooo good!

In a pie pan, add fruit filling, then sprinkle on crumble. To serve cut into 4 servings and top each with the cream. I have some left over cream and I can’t wait to use it over fresh berries or cherries from my bounty basket.

With a dessert like this, how could you ever crave dairy again? Coconut oil is so good for you it’s insane. Coconut oil regulates blood sugar and helps the absorption of calcium and magnesium in the body. The connection between weight loss and coconut oil is interesting. The naturally occurring saturated fat ( not the man-made saturated fat from the hydrogenation process) is actually good for you and provides many health benefits including:

Boosting your thyroid

Increasing your metabolism

Promoting a lean body and weight loss

Supporting your immune system

These are just a few of the amazing benefits. It also benefits your skin when applied topically giving regenerative and anti-aging effects. I use this now instead of lotions filled with chemicals. You can add a teaspoon to your smoothies or use it to cook with. I spread it on toast too. I also put a teaspoon in my oatmeal. Make sure it is cold-pressed, meaning raw.

Leave a Reply

