The best raw and vegan ice creams

I love summer and I love dessert. There’s nothing more refreshing then a good dairy free ice cream. I was just in Cape Cod visiting my dad for a week. The cape has some of the best homemade ice cream shops ever, and  growing up some of my best memories are of my dad and I getting ice cream together. It’s something we always loved doing together, along with going to the book store. We love books and ice cream. The perfect combination. The thing is, Cape Cod had no ice cream shops that offer a good dairy free ice cream, not yet. I could get a smoothie, but no ice cream. So, my dad got his ice cream and I got a plain old smoothie. I was satisfied with it, but I still wanted my ice cream. So my dad took me to the natural food store and I got my favorite , coconut bliss by Luna and Larry.

It’s so good! I love the chocolate hazelnut fudge. It’s made with agave nectar instead of sugar and coconut milk instead of dairy. I don’t eat this all the time because it’s still high in calories, but when I want ice cream, this is the best! I also like the mocha maca crunch flavor.

I also love raw cashew ice cream. Blue mountain cashew creamery is local and raw. My favorite flavor is mint cacao chip.

I really want an ice cream maker. It’s on my list of must have kitchen gadgets I haven’t gotten to yet. Here’s a great recipe that I can’t wait to try by Sarma Melngailis.It’s in her book Raw Food Real World, and she sells it at her cafe One Lucky Duck In New York City. I had a scoop at her fancy restaurant Pure Food and Wine. It was delicious. Here’s the recipe..
2 cups raw cashews, soaked for 2 hours and drained
2 cups fresh coconut meat ( from a young thai coconut)
1 cup coconut juice
1/2 cup raw honey or raw agave nectar
1/2 cup coconut butter ( I use artisana)
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
seeds os 1/2 vanilla bean or 2 more tablespoons of extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
Put all ingredients in a blender and puree until very smooth. Pour mixture into ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions.
Variations
Add 3 tablespoons raw cacao powder before blending for chocolate
Omit the vanilla bean and extract and add 1/2 cup fresh blueberries for blueberry ice cream
One thought on “The best raw and vegan ice creams

  1. “Books and ice cream,” that is definitely always part of the agenda. : ) BTW, I was shocked at how good the raw cashew ice cream is! For the lactose intolerant out there, it’s a must try!

Leave a Reply

