Easy raw buckwheat porridge

This is one of my favorite breakfasts ever. I always have my green smoothie first and then I’m hungry for something else a little while later. My mom said when I was little I always had to have two breakfasts. When I woke up I would yell out “Mom I’m up” and want to eat immediately. I’m still like that! I love my breakfast. I’m also on my feet all day and need a little extra to get me through. I also like something a little more fancy on the weekends. This is so easy to do . Buckwheat is a super packed nutritious grain-like fruit seed.Buckwheat is high in magnesium. Magnesium supports a healthy immune system, aids in regulating blood sugar levels, and may play a role in managing diabetes, heart disease, and high blood pressure. Buckwheat groats are gluten-free, high in dietary fiber and complex carbohydrates that provide energy for healthy cell- function.

I buy my buckwheat groats at Whole Foods in the bulk section

First soak 1 cup of groats overnight in filtered water

Then rinse groats in a mesh strainer

Place 1/2 of the groats in food processor with 1/2 cup almond milk, 1 tablespoon maple syrup or 1 packet stevia, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 2 tablespoon chia seeds and pulse a few times. Add more almond milk if needed.

Mix the processed mixture with the remaining 1/2 cup of groats in a bowl and stir.

Serve topped with fresh fruit and nuts ( I used sliced peaches and apricots)

Leave a Reply

