Chocolate mint avocado shake

This shake is another one of my favorite deserts that I make almost every night! I love it. It’s really simple and healthy too. I received acupuncture the other day due to some chronic fatigue I’ve been having lately. Even though my daily green smoothies and more live foods have helped, I’m still feeling low in energy and wiped out. My practitioner suggested I need to build my blood ( from a TCM point of view). That means adding more iron, and yes a little red meat…Ugh! I do have the O blood type that requires lots of protein and iron rich food. So I ate a little meat this week. Only local, grass-fed high quality meat though. That eliminates factory farming, I’m still sad about the suffering the animals still go through, and the fear. Can you imagine the fear they must feel knowing they are about to be slaughtered. Unbelievable. I try to practice the native american approach and at least say a prayer before I eat it. I don’t feel better about it, I just keep trying to find the right balance.  I’m also trying to cut back on my coffee intake because caffeine taxes the adrenals. Caffeine also can block the absorption  of nutrients like iron and B12. This is hell! I only have my morning cup now and the rest of the day it’s just tea and lots of water.

I mentioned before how much I love cacao powder and nibs. Turns out cacao powder is one of the highest sources of iron according to raw foods guru David Wolfe. It’s also an amazing superfood! I’m also adding other iron-rich foods and herbs to my diet like nettles, apricots, raisins, spinach, kale, wheatgrass, and Spirulina. I hope you enjoy this chocolatty treat as much as I do. In my opinion it’s better than ice-cream.

1/12 cups coconut milk ( or any other non-dairy milk)

1/2 avocado

2 tablespoons cacao powder

1 tablespoon cacao nibs

1 handful fresh mint leaves

1/2 frozen banana ( add more if you want it thicker)

4 drops liquid stevia ( or 1 tablespoon agave nectar)

Blend until smooth and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

