Basic flax crackers

Flax crackers are my absolute favorite snack now. When I’m at home just hanging out I love to snack. I’m a huge snacker. I just don’t want to put on the pounds or end up feeling bloated because I ate a bunch of salt. Flax seeds contain rich, healthy fatty acids (omega-3, omega-9, omega 6) that are needed for the human body to function. They provide soluble fiber and are rich in lignans, which are hormone like substances known to balance hormone levels in the body. The seeds can be bought in bulk and kept in the fridge or freezer. I just grind a portion at a time before I add to smoothies or oatmeal. The recipe is so easy. You will need a dehydrator. I have an Excalibur 4 tray. It’s a great starter dehydrator. I’ve made many crackers, breads, nuts,and other gourmet raw foods. I think it’s essential for a raw foods kitchen.

2 cups brown or golden flaxseeds

21/2 cups water

2 tablespoons tamari

Soak flaxseeds in water for 1 hour or until liquid is absorbed

Add tamari and mix well

Divide mixture between 2 dehydrator trays lined with nonstick sheets

spread evenly with offset spatula

Dry at 145 for 1 hour

Use a spatula to score into desired pieces and dry at 110 for 6 hours

Flip onto a mesh dehydrator tray and dry an additional 2 hours or until dry and crispy

The crackers will keep for 1 month in an airtight container

Try adding seasonings such as onion powder, garlic powder, Italian herbs, curry or chili powder. I love to spread with macadamia nut cheez ,walnut pesto or hummus. Recipes to come!

Leave a Reply

