Raw zucchini pasta with marinara sauce and marinated mushrooms

Last night  I made raw zucchini pasta using my Joyce Chen spiral slicer. I love zucchini pasta and squash pasta. I am avoiding all products with gluten in it for many reasons.

Gluten is the main protein in wheat. In many people, gluten acts like a virus and attacks the body and it’s surrounding tissue. The immune response damages surrounding tissue and can exacerbate many other health issues.Gluten can cause abdominal bloating, gas and diarrhea. Symptoms of gluten sensitivity include low energy, fatigue, brain fog, skin rashes, numbness in the extremities and muscle and joint pain to name a few.

Gluten acts like a paste in your digestive tract. It’s know to aggravate digestion and cause autoimmune reactions and inflammation. Even if you don’t have celiac disease it’s best to avoid gluten if you really want optimal digestion. Grains with gluten include wheat, barley, rye, some oats (I buy gluten free oats), kamut, and spelt. I avoid flour and starches including white rice, although sometimes I’ll have it with sushi unless they have brown rice, I always ask for brown rice. My favorite grains are quinoa, millet. buckwheat groats and gluten free oats. As an Italian women I have to say…I don’t miss pasta one bit! I always feel so heavy tired and bloated when I eat pasta. My skin starts looking funky and I get bitchy.Sometimes I’ll have quinoa pasta, but raw zucchini is my favorite!

Here’s what I did!

I spiraled 1 zucchini is my spiral slicer, and place in a bowl.

I made a marinara sauce by placing 3 roma tomatoes,1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes (soaked for 30 minutes) 2 cloves of garlic, one huge handful of fresh basil leaves, 2 pitted dates, 1/2 red onion, 1 tablespoon oregano, 3 tablespoons of olive oil, fresh lemon juice, 1 teaspoon of salt/pepper and blended it up! There you have it…so easy!

I then marinated some cremini mushrooms in 3 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of balsalmic vinegar, ans a dash of dijon mustard for about 1 hour and placed mushrooms and olives over pasta and sprinkeled with hemp seeds. So delicious!

Leave a Reply

