Natural sweeteners and my favorite strawberry shake

I have to admit I love sweets. Especially at night after dinner.I love dessert. The truth is dessert can be healthy and satisfying. If it’s raw and free of processed white sugar and flour which are empty calories, it can be nutritious.If I ever felt like I couldn’t enjoy dessert I would not stick to any diet.Although eating raw is not a diet it’s a lifestyle. Eating raw desserts to me is so much more satisfying than any cake or cookie filled with chemicals!  Even though I’ve eliminated white processed sugar I still enjoy a sweet treat made using only natural sweeteners. My favorites are agave, raw honey, stevia, and maple syrup. There has been recent controversy about agave. It is 97% fructose which can have a negative effect on the liver.It apparently has a similar structure to high fructose corn syrup.  It can also cause fat around the middle…not something I need for sure! I already struggle with keeping fat off my middle!

According to Eating for Beauty, written by David Wolfe,( my favorite book!) “Heroin is produced by taking the juice of a certain kind of poppy and refining it into opium, then morphine, then heroin. Refined sugar is produced by taking the juice of sugar cane or beet and refining it into molasses, then brown sugar, and finally into white sugar” Sugar can act and feel like a drug. I know once I eat something sugary I immediately start craving sugar constantly like I’m addicted! It sends me into a unhealthy eating cycle and I can’t stop.

The harvesting of sugar also destroys natural habitats. It leaches vitamins and minerals from your blood and bones and suppresses your immune system.

Along with the health risks of processed sugar and high fructose we also need to avoid artificial sweeteners like aspartame and sucralose. These are artificial chemicals and are neurotoxic..not good for beauty!

I try to stick with raw honey (an amazing superfood), stevia, dates, figs, or fruit. I like to fix a shake for dessert. It is very satisfying. Fresh strawberries from the farmers market are best.They are so good right now!

1 cup strawberries, stemmed

1/2 raw beet (peeled and chopped)

1/2 cup cashews (soaked 1 hour)

2 dates pitted (soaked 10 minutes)

1 or 2 packets of stevia

1 to 1/2 cup almond milk ( homemade is best)

1 tablespoon cacao nibs

Blend everything together in a high speed blender and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Natural sweeteners and my favorite strawberry shake

  1. This was great Jackie! I work w/Colleen over at AP…keep ’em coming and congrats on the blog!
    – Chrystal

Leave a Reply

