Almond milk and my favorite dairy substitutions

Almonds are not only an excellent source of vitamin E , they are 20 percent protein. They also contain magnesium and potassium ( very important for our body). They are a very satisfying snack and I always have them on hand. Make sure that you buy raw almonds, if it doesn’t say raw on the package then they were roasted which depletes the nut of these vital nutrients. I buy mine in bulk at any health food store. If I don’t see any raw nuts I always ask.

I always have homemade almond milk at home, it’s so easy to make. You must have a vitamix blender or any other high speed blender. The first step is to soak 1 cup of almonds overnight ( or 6 to 8 hours).

Then you rinse them through a fine mesh strainer. Place the almonds back in the blender with 4 cups of filtered water and blend! I then use a nut milk bag to stain the milk. These are cheap and make the milk silky smooth. I purchased mine on amazon for $7

You want to strain this over a big bowl. I then store my almond milk in a mason jar.

I usually drink it just like this unsweetened. It’s also delicious sweetened. To do this simply pour strained almond milk back into blender and add 1/4 cup agave or raw honey and a pinch of sea salt Add vanilla bean or vanilla extract for more flavor. I also love Brazil nut milk. This can be made the same way using Brazil nuts. Brazil nuts are high in selenium, one of the body’s most powerful antioxidants.

For chocolate milk

add 3 heaping tablespoons of raw cacao powder or cocoa powder or carob powder, plus a packet of stevia along with strained milk and other ingredients.

For strawberry milk

Add about 1 pint of washed and stemmed strawberries, plus stevia packet and other ingredients above and add back into blender.

Tip  if you want to make a quick nut milk you use almond butter. Simply add 2 heaping tablespoons of raw almond butter or cashew nut butter, 2 cups of filtered water, pinch of sea salt, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and 1 tablespoon of raw coconut butter (optional).

I have found many dairy substitutions that I love! For my coffee creamer I use coconut creamer by so delicious.

I love Daiya cheez.. it’s not raw, but sometimes I like to indulge in some comfort food!

This can substitute cheese is any recipe. It’s soy and gluten free!

Earth balance soy free butter is a staple in my house. It’s delicious! I also use coconut oil or butter as a spread.

Leave a Reply

